Point Well Made

Standard

I know I’m becoming redundant, but that is editing for you. Over and over reading the same stuff you wrote, some of it years ago, and trying to improve and polish it into something others would like to read. Plus I have an editor, yes I pay him but since four of my friends have already gone through this novel it was kind of the next step. Honestly, after some of the mistakes this wonderful person has saved me from, I would be required to pay just for the privilege of not looking silly. The book, when I finally get it fully edited, will not have the phrase, ‘scrambled eyes’ when I meant to say ‘scrambled eggs’. Huge thanks to John Hudspith for patience and honesty.

There is a point to this post, really there is! I took a break from editing Lighted Windows because I was in the sex scene and my point of view kept jumping from her to him and back again. I could not see the harm because, well it’s sex and we all know that is generally emotional, at least for one of the pair. But John has lectured me more than once about not ‘head-hopping’, meaning ONE point of view at a time, period. I was tearing my hair out because I did not want to lose this emotional bit in the book. So I paused to read a romance novel by Natalie Anderson or at least I think that was the author. First of all it jumps right into near rape at a rooftop pool. I would never allow someone I just met to fondle me but then it moves on to the two lead characters thinking about each other and doing the sex dance, no not real sex the stuff leading up to that. And that is where I finally got what John was trying to tell me. Duh! This author was head-hopping. First she thinks something about him then he thinks something about her and back and forth all on the same page in the same  paragraphs even. I was getting confused and impatient with the story. Yes, now I get it.

I have stopped reading the romance novel because, as my dearest John said, I got confused. I am now back at my novel moving things around and Not head-hopping. I may be losing some of the emotional punch but with some thought, I think I’ll be able to keep much of the feelings of these two characters. It does take some work and a lot of groans. Why the groan, well I want to show the emotions from both parties but now I must be mindful of who’s point of view I am writing in and not bounce around. Bouncing just makes the reader dizzy. Can’t have that 🙂

Ciao my darlings! Love and Light and yoga if you can!

One thought on “Point Well Made

  1. What a pleasure to read. I must say when I’ve written something and read it over and over, my brain can become a bit “scrambled” shall we say? If I can’t tell if I wrote “eyes” or “eggs,” then know it’s time for a nap.

    Like

Leave a Reply

