Rain & NaNoWriMo

Standard

Yes, I realize these two things don’t go together but it is that time of the year and I’ve made a commitment to finish one of my novels this month. Today being the first of November, I sat down to write and watch the rain. I love rain and here in parched Northern California it is a blessing beyond mere words.

Speaking of words, I did manage to advance MIND MATTERS, the novel I’m striving to finish this month, by about five pages. Some folks are going on word count but since my darling editor, John Hudspith, will cut a great deal of my ‘fluffy’ writing, I’m setting a goal of pages. It is an effort to move from scene to scene regardless of word count.

It may not have come up in national news, but Beverly Hills not only did nothing to save water, those privileged folks actually used over one hundred percent of their normal water usage. The State Water folks are fining them for the abuse. Somehow, I doubt Beverly Hills and the other wealthy offenders will care. It’s only money. Green lawns and golf courses are far more important.

I think we may have gotten at least half an inch of rain here in Folsom. I don’t think it will make Folsom pond back into Folsom Lake. I do think it will make leaving this state so very much easier. I now own a house in Kentucky and it is lovely to see all the water passing through my next and I hope, last state of residence.

The thing about writing is, you don’t need to be in any particular place. Jack Kerouac managed to become famous for not really belonging anyway in particular. While I love to travel, I’m a little picky about where I sleep each night. Don’t take that wrong because I have spent many wonderful nights in a tent, traveling in the U.S. and in Europe. I am, however, getting on in years and require a bed for the night or at least a comfy air mattress. 🙂

So now I have made my commitment public (4 whole people and yes, Zanna, I still love your red hair). I am going to stop now. The next five or six pages need some thought. Oh, a Thank You to Nancy Loderick for her kind grammar assist. Naturally, WordPress doesn’t have a grammar check or even the ability for someone to correct their brain fart. (pardon the language 🙂

Until next time, I bid thee Adieu, darling fans  xx

Leave a Reply

